The Prodigy - Their Law: The Singles 1990-2005
UK Release Date:

17 October 2005

Track Listing:

1. Firestarter
2. Their Law
3. Breathe
4. Out Of Space
5. Smack My Bitch Up
6. Poison
7. Girls
8. Voodoo People
9. Charly
10. No Good (start the dance)
11. Spitfire
12. Jericho
13. Everybody In the Place
14. One Love
15. Hot Ride

The Prodigy - Their Law: The Singles 1990-2005 (XL Recordings)
•• Published: SoundsXP, October 2005
Original article:

Let's overlook the fact The Prodigy have decided to name their singles collection after a track that was never even released as a single. Following the success of retrospectives from Basement Jaxx and Faithless, Braintree's best boyband now unleash the highlights of a fifteen year career that has seen them go from white-gloved ravers to anti-establishment techno protestors to dance punks then on to the tough electro funk of last year's 'Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned'.

They were the only rave act to produce a decent album that still stands up today, achieved global notoriety with 'Fat Of The Land', gatecrashing the US album chart at number one, and are an incendiary live act, though they have at times pushed their image to the verge of pantomime farce. Still no one has managed to mesh the worlds of dance and rock together as well as The Prodigy could, just try listening to Bodyrockers' 'I Like The Way You Move' back to back with 'Firestarter' for proof.

The whistle posse will delight in hearing 'Charly' and 'Out Of Space' again, rockers will be happy to mosh away to 'Breathe' and 'Their Law' while 'Spitfire' will remind sports fans of England's recent Ashes triumph, (and perhaps cause painful flashbacks of a resurrected WG Grace for any Aussies out there). There really isn't a duff track in sight, aside from terrible 'Up, Up And Away' cover 'Hotride' that is.

There are a couple of omissions, firstly 'Wind It Up', a helium rave tune Howlett felt uncomfortable releasing, feeling it was time to push things forward, and 'Baby's Got A Temper', the faux pas of self-parody he has never truly lived down or been allowed to forget. All of their albums barring their debut 'Experience' have gone straight in at number one and this rock solid collection of rave, rock and dance classics will surely remind people of the prodigious genius of Liam Howlett and his enduring talent.

- Ian Roullier

Copyright © Ian Roullier 2004-2014